Hot answers tagged

7

The rules depend on the state, but if you're telling the state you paid less than you did, that's Tax Fraud. In Texas, they don't even let you do this, however. The state maintains what is basically a "Blue Book" database of car prices, and you have to pay tax on whatever they value the car at for a minimum. I'm sure other states have done similar. ...


4

It entirely depends on your jurisdiction, and possibly on the vehicle itself. In my county in Texas, they recently changed the law to put a stop to just the kind of thing you're talking about. Instead of charging sales tax or registration as a percentage of the price (which someone might report as being $100, even though they paid $10,000), they charge based ...


2

Honestly, there is nothing preventing you from doing this other than your own integrity. You can, in fact, walk right into the registration office and sign the papers that your new ride cost you $500. Like others have stated, depending on your location there may be programs in place to prevent this. The chances of you getting caught are in the eyes of the ...


2

Since this has been debated as possibly a legal or illegal question if this were a relative some states do allow a transfer of title ownership as a gift without the need to pay a fee. However, your question still is entirely based on your region. You should contact your local registration area to see what the rules are. Also, fair warning. If you do ...


2

Since the vehicle is a 96, the mechanic might have meant that you need 2 or 2 more OBDII monitor readiness checks. Some emissions systems are checked continuously by the powertrain controller, while others are only checked periodically when certain driving conditions are met (FAQ). Has your battery been disconnected? That could have reset the monitoring ...


2

In the UK, there are two dates that apply, depending on the circumstances - "Date of Manufacture" and "Date of First Registration". This can lead to some confusion with some of the more technical rules, where one requirement might apply to cars built after a certain date, while another might apply to those first registered after a date. As Bob says, ...


2

The following is written from the perspective of standard practice in the USA: A vehicle's actual age is defined by its date of manufacture. The sales-based definition of "new" vs. "not new" is something of a fiction. The dealer can take delivery of a car from the factory, hang onto it for quite some time and still sell it as new if they can find a ...


2

In Ohio unlike other states a bill of sale is not required. The car should have a title and that title is on file at the title bureau. You will fill the title out and take it to a notary to get signed. Exchange the title and car for the money. The new owner will take the title to the title bureau and pay the sales tax on the price filled out on the title to ...


2

According to the California DMV webpage How to Reregister a Salvage Vehicle, it says: You will need… An Application for Title or Registration (REG 343) form (PDF) Proof of ownership A Verification of Vehicle (REG 31) form or CHP inspection certificate Brake and light adjustment certificates Appropriate fees You may also need… An Application for ...


1

It is typically on the sticker on the drivers side door or on a sticker on the door jamb. If it is missing the dealer can determine it by the VIN


1

You can't find the vehicle registration date from the VIN, as the VIN is a manufacturer's number. You'll need to apply to the relevant registration authority for the country/state the vehicles are registered in.


1

Prepare all of the paperwork listed on this page http://www.dmv.org/il-illinois/car-registration.php and travel to an SOS office where they'll issue you your plates.



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible